An Advantage of Age

In a world where the old is thrown away for the next new thing, I think we may be missing out on some of the sensational things that the old things can do best.

This bucolic rural image of country Germany was shot with a 10-year old 5d, no, not a 5D mk11 or mk111, the ignored first model. A camera that has so many stains on the sensor from years in the tropics that it’s unadvisable to shoot with an f-stop of more than f5.6.

Coupled to old faithful is a cheap Sigma 28-300mm zoom I use when on holidays, it is also an old lens (about 15years old, but glass, not plastic). The picture may not be as tack sharp like it would be if shot with my 6D and a pro lens but would such equipment really help me get this image like I wanted?

The original picture, which has had a minimum of post processing, was easily made to look like it was shot in the early 20th century. The picture is about memories, looking back.

What I am trying to say is, don’t get rid of the old equipment, it may just be what you need to get what you want.

 

5D, 28-300mm, f5.6, 1/600sec

Leave a comment