Image

The Chattering Typewriter at Shakespeare’s Bookshop in Paris.

 The Chattering Typewriter at  Shakespeare’s Bookshop in Paris.

I spent a lot of time this morning with Antoine D’Agatas’ book Anticorps, which is truly monumental. As so often happens after spending some time with this book I feel the urge to explore gritty grainy pictures again, and as I have drifted back towards B&W images over the last few weeks I thought it a good time to rework photographs that never made the cut in previous revisions. Reading Anticorps also made me wonder if images that lacked a little something could be made interesting using this process. To get what I wanted was relatively simple with Photoshop and a film noir filter in Niks’ Silver Effects Pro. By the end of the day I had processed a large number of pictures and was growing a little bored when I found this picture taken in Shakespeare’s Bookshop in Paris. The picture I immediately titled the Chattering Typewriter, and if you think about the writers who were once linked to this bookshop, a chattering type-writer in this store is a good thing to have.
The beauty of the film noir process is that it extracts detail that would otherwise be either lost or look over-processed with normal development. So this picture is a bonus, which without re-reading Antiorps I doubt I would have even looked at.
As for Antoine D’Agata himself, I guess that’s a guy who is living and dying for his art.
http://www.americansuburbx.com/2013/07/asx-tv-antoine-dagata-interview-2013.html

18-70mm, f3.5, 1/8sec, ISO200

One thought on “The Chattering Typewriter at Shakespeare’s Bookshop in Paris.

  1. The spot surely is every writers dream and instantly makes me think of Burroughs and the bunch.
    Being locked into the bookshop overnight, alone with the typewriter, listening to what it’d have to tell…

    Like

Leave a Reply

