Sky, Water and Analogue Photographs

This photo of the American poet Mary Ruefle shot at lake Paran in Vermont is another of those pictures that make me glad I am a photographer. It’s a posed picture but whenever I look at it I feel the anticipation of free flight before the leap, then the sudden weightlessness before sliding into the water. Everything about it is like the moment before a bird leaps into the sky and, flapping it wings, gracefully disappears from sight.

To get the shot I had to wade chest deep into the water, which made me very nervous, as the footing underfoot was not as stable as I would have liked.

 

The camera: Bronica SQA with 6X4.5 back, 80mm, HP5Plus 400 ASA film, archival printed on warm tone 320gram fiber based paper.

One thought on “Sky, Water and Analogue Photographs

Leave a Reply

