The Story in the Photograph

Today is my 200th post and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who have visited my site and offer a special thanks to those who have liked many of the pictures. It’s nice to know that people somewhere take a little bit of enjoyment from what I do.

 

While mulling over the advantages of blur in disguising people in street photography and trolling my archives, I remembered a conversation with a friend who was constantly irritated about people cluttering up the space where he wanted to shoot a picture. The main complaint was his inability to get clear pictures when travelling on holidays. He had the usual complaints, too many tourists, or too many obstructions to get a decent picture. My advice to him was to buy postcards, they’re usually better than he could do and were shot at the best time of day. Besides, I replied, I like people in my pictures, they help to tell the story and give a better understanding of what I actually saw.

The location of today’s picture needs no introduction, and it answers the question ‘What’s it like to visit the Taj?’ It’s fantastic, but as you can see, despite the size of the site, it’s heavily crowded, and it’s that what a travel picture should say. I was one of thousands, but still it was spectacular and I wouldn’t want to make a picture without the colourful mass of humanity.

 

Why would I want a picture of such a location denuded of people, it would be a photographic lie, and would look like every other postcard. Where would the story be, and isn’t that the point of travel photographs, to tell stories.

 

50mm, f14, 1/100sec, ISO100

Leave a Reply

