Street Theatre

It will come as no surprise to many to know that street pictures like this one are a favorite of mine. I enjoy the intricate geometric lines, and the sheer graphic nature of the content. Also I’ve written many times about my fondness for putting people in manufactured landscapes that dwarf them, plus I like a little bit of the unexpected, the what’s happening here type of picture.

Getting total strangers to preform a complicated piece of street choreography is difficult, especially when nobody but me knows what’s going on, but I learned from the greats. Henri Cartier-Bresson (so I’ve read) would look for a suitably graphic location and wait for the scene to fall into place, which is what I did here, much to the chagrin of my long suffering wife and her brother, both of whom had to stoically stand killing time while I waited for the world within my viewfinder to fall into a neatly precise aesthetic regularity.

Because I was shooting into the sun I knew the people would be silhouetted and that the picture would be monochrome.

The only problem I had was I don’t like overlapping groups, and the picture needed rhythm to lift above the banal and give it good graphic content, which meant waiting and shooting until i was satisied with what was in the frame.

Oddly the most prominent person and the inspiration for the picture is in fact the larger than life statue in the center of the frame that seems more real than the rest.

 

85mm, f7, 1/1000sec, ISO 250

Leave a Reply

