A Past of Future Potential

A few months ago I wrote about the benefits of shooting images that you have no need for today, but that you just might need in the future. This image is an example of that principle. It was shot many years ago at the Cathedral Of John the Divine in New York, which is on the corner of 113th street and Amsterdam in Morningside Heights.

I was going through an out-of-focus stage, sort of copying Hiroshi Sugimoto in a loose manner, just to see where it would lead me.

http://www.sugimotohiroshi.com/architecture.html

I took a lot of pictures of the New York skyline as well as people in the streets with this style, and learnt that some people can do things so much better than others, so Hiroshi will never have to worry about me usurping him. Besides, his work is far more cerebral than mine and a lot more intellectually evocative, whereas my images are more like what it would be like to see the city if you were severely sight-impaired. Sugimoto used a tripod mounted large format camera whereas I flicked through the streets all energy and bustle with a 35mm camera. My images are less controlled, nowhere near as evocative as his, which is why he’s who he is and me, I’m just playing.

Having said that, it was an interesting experiment and while the images are never going to be groundbreaking, it was invigorating to break a few of my own conventions.

This image may be used as a part in a pictorial narrative I’m currently ruminating on and as a consequence I’ve spent the weekend rummaging and picking through long forgotten negatives.

Much to my surprise I still find interesting pictures after countless revisions in the past. Pictures not relevant at the time and never processed.

 

The image was shot with Kodak Tri-X 400asa, which is all the information I have.

Leave a Reply

