Self Portrait of an Artist as a Younger Man

I think one of the best pictures to come from this painting with light period is this self-portrait, which at the time I pompously titled Self Portrait of an Artist at Home. At this early period in my career I was happily unaware of the trails and tribulations awaiting me, possibly even thinking myself at the peak of my powers, the future of the art world held in abeyance until my arrival.

But life is a cruelly hard teacher of realities, not that I have any regrets, but the naivety of those days forces a wry smile today.

But, it could be just as easily argued that I have yet to do a better self-portrait than the one those days of arrogance produced.

Bronica, 80mm, Kodak Tri-X asa 400. (I think this exposure went on for about 2 minutes)

Leave a Reply

