The Boys

Like a large part of Berlin’s population I was at the Christopher Street Parade the day before yesterday and if anybody remembers the debacle I had at the Karneval der Kulturen, then it would come as no surprise to learn that I did a little preparation this time.

In the first instance, I knew in advance that I would shoot black and white photo-reportage.

Knowing this in advance makes it easier to find the things you want to photograph. It doesn’t mean that the normal everyday pictures are ignored, but the street performers stopped being my principle interest, unless there is something dramatic or humorous happening.

But not everything goes 100% according to plan .

This picture fits into the humorous category but it will never be a black and white picture, the colour of the outfits being essential to the image.

It was a good day. I enjoyed myself and came away with some good photographs of the day.

24-70mm, f4,1/300sec, ISO100

Leave a Reply

