Still Life- A Process of Reversal

I’m still doing the ‘aging modern digital photos’ thing, and although most tend to be either landscapes or portraits, I thought I would turn my hand to a casual still life. This image was perfect for the process because the subject matter is antiques, which lends authenticity to the picture.

The border is from a scanned large format polaroid negative that had been underexposed and damaged during developing.

The idea to create this appearance of age came about when a friend asked me to restore of few very old damaged pictures. The odd thing is, it required the removal of imperfections and age stains to make my friend’s photos acceptable, whereas I needed to add both focus shifts and stain marks to make mine into what it is. It all makes me wonder if the more software skills I acquire the further I’ll regress into the past, and as I’m already pre-1900, how much further can I go.

50mm, f2, 1/100sec, ISO640

Leave a Reply

