Relaxing and Having Fun

When I get something new I usually have a strong urge to play with it, explore its potential and to simply push its boundaries, especially when it comes to software. And being a bit of a know-it-all, I thought I would have total mastery of the Nik filter collection I downloaded yesterday. This turned out to be true for most of them, but not all, hence today’s slightly over the top rendering of the Cathedral in Cologne, the Kölner Dom. There are a few new additions to the collection I will probably never use, such as the sharpener tools and analogue camera filters that I used on this image (the border and imperfections I added later although the filter list does offer some similar but not so satisfactory options). It’s fun to play with new stuff that works as it should and I’m happy to be able to again use all the old custom recipes for Silver Efex Pro I built over the years (my old Silver Efex stopped working in El Capitan) and it is this filter set I use the most.

Yep, today I’m a happy chappy, which is good because while I was away I hardly shot anything not worth keeping.

 

28-300mm, f5.6, 1/200sec, ISO100.

Leave a Reply

