This is another one of those pictures that I’ve both liked and had for a while and today seemed an opportune time to use it for a couple of reasons.

1/ I’m moving our kitchen around and as it’s an Ikea kitchen it goes without saying that something has been broken and needs to be glued back together. Glue takes time to dry so I’m doing this while I’m waiting.

2/ I remembered writing that the free Nik software were possibly stand alone programs so I thought I’d try out Silver Efex Pro on this image to see how it worked without Photoshop, and as you can see it did a very good job.

 

The reason I like this image is that the exuberance of youth in the body language of the young women is in direct contrast to the burdens of (middle) age in the man with the packages. Composition-wise it works for me.

 

Fujifilm X20, f5.6, 1/125sec, ISO100

Leave a Reply

