Considering Differences

“Colour photographs tend to lack seriousness. The colours are exaggerated; not real. But, with black and-white, one can create visual harmony in the sense that the visual noise and distortion in the picture come through like a dialogue.”   Raghu Rai

 

The reporter who wrote this article wasn’t totally convinced but Raghu Rai is an icon in both India and the photographic world so it’s hard to argue with him, although I would suggest Raghubir Singh, who is as famous if not more so for his colour work, would have a very different opinion.

 

So as an exercise I took a rather ordinary image shot last year around this time and gave it the monochrome makeover. Rai is right, it’s much easier to control the way a picture is viewed in black and white, primarily because colour isn’t there to distort and distract from the form and compositional elements of the image.

Only my opinion and I admit I could be totally wrong, but then I’ve­­­ got Raghu Rai on my side.

 

50mm, f5.6, 1/125sec, ISO100

3 thoughts on “Considering Differences

  1. I think that it really depends on the photo. Sometimes the colour is the defining characteristic of the subject. However, black and white makes is easier to visualise the light, which is the most important aspect of photography. When do you shoot colour (if ever)?

    Like

    1. Yes you are right and I have to admit to shifting loyalties. I shoot colour a lot and in many instances it’s the colour that gives the image its grunt, but I do enjoy thinking in monochrome even with modern cameras. I guess thats due to the years of shooting only B&W

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

