StillLife

I hope everybody has had a good start to the year. Personally, January 2017 has not progressed as well as I would have hoped.

To begin, on Jan 2nd the hard drive on my computer decided that as the warranty had expired three weeks previously it would refuse to do any more work. Fortunately all but two days work had been backed up so there was minimal loss.

Yesterday my wife’s computer also decided that it had had enough and wished for a quieter existence on the scrap heap. A logic board failure is the chief suspect, but as the computer is over 6 years old it isn’t worth throwing money at it when we know the end result will be that repairing it will be prohibitively expensive.

While my computer was away awaiting the technicians pleasure I fell back onto my usual fallback, books. So on the one hand, work flow was retarded, but on the other I managed to read a few very interesting books.

I also did a couple of pictures that required minimal processing, because after all one needs to keep doing what one needs to do.

This simple little picture required three lights to get the effect I wanted. On camera right, up close in front of the piece was the key light with a soft box. Also on camera right but behind is the second light with a honeycomb grill attached. I used this light to create the highlight lines on the right side of the piece. On camera left side and almost vertical to the piece is the third smaller flash which was used to both fill in the shadows on the left of the piece and spill light onto the background.

Shooting this picture was both interesting and fun, it also eroded some of the dull free time I would normally have enlivened working on pictures with the computer.

70-200mm, f11, 1/125sec, ISO100, 2 500watt studio flashes and 1 200watt flash with silver umbrella

Leave a Reply

